Farewell Johnnie Walker Green Label

20140402-214325.jpg

Diageo’s JW Green Label product has been discontinued for a while now. You can still find it while supplies last but unfortunately price jumped as a result from $55 to $76 where I live. I refuse to pay the new inflated price but when a found a bottle for $60 and being the last bottle they had figured what the hell so I bought it. I’ll probably just tuck this bottle away unopened for a few years we’ll see.

Green label is a single malt blend that contains Talisker, Caol Ila, Cragganmore, and Linkwood with each being at least 15 years old. This is my second bottle and it really is quite excellent. Last time I had it was Xmas 2012 as a gift.

People tend to snub JW but the black label and double black are actually pretty good for low $30’s. I dislike that JW is doing away with age statement and have some bitter opinions that I ‘ll rant on in a future post. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

