Too Big Too Small….Ahhh Just What I Needed.

Talking about frame bags for this post. Just picked up this 1/2 height frame bag that came recommended by the great folks at Gravel & Grind. Bag is manufactured by OveJA NeGRA Threadworks to be used with my Salsa Warbird.

IMG_1284

My Warbird being a 56cm the large size frame bag fits perfect. This size bag retails for $80 and so very worth it. I dislike under saddle bags not to mention a pain to access and forget it if coasting in motion. I like the 1/2 height opposed to the full frame bag as it allows me to use both my super awesome tall Camelbak water bottles while still allowing me to carry a shit ton of other stuff. Of course I had to see if it would hold a 750ml bottle of adventure nectar. In this picture the bag is cradling Caol Ila 12yo single malt Islay Whisky. As you can see there is still room to spare. Ideally this scenario is likely a trip home from the store type purpose as I doubt I would adventure ride with this but it’s good to know I have options : ) for evening indulgence camping I actually carry and use a 5oz stainless Stanley Flask. They make a 8oz. but the 5oz. is more suitable considering the contents. Carry two 5oz. if you have multi day trip and make the other Pyrat XO Rum or a Four Roses Single Barrel Bourbon. Cheers!

IMG_1313

Anyway the frame bag is truly a great product with function and doesn’t require you give something up in return. You can still use saddle / top tube and handle bar bags for carrying additional loot. I’m quite pleased with this purchase. Oh and I picked up the Large top tube bag too for another bike.

Leave a Reply

